Johnson County wins state environmental stewardship award

John Thompson • Jun 3, 2020 at 8:48 PM

NASHVILLE — Johnson County was one of nine winners in the 2020 Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards. While this was the 34th year of the awards program, Johnson County was the first winner of a new category: natural resources.

The awards were announced Wednesday by Gov. Bill Lee and Tennessee Environment and Conservation Commissioner David Salyers.

“Tennesseans continue to show their commitment to the environment in innovative ways, and we want to recognize their outstanding efforts,” Lee said. “These awards show that responsible environmental stewardship is happening across our state.”

The Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards program recognizes exceptional voluntary actions that improve or protect our environment and natural resources with projects or initiatives not required by law or regulation.

The other award winners were:

• The city of Knoxville in the energy and renewable resources category.

• The Division of Forestry of the Tennessee Department of Agriculture’s Cumberland County location for agriculture and forestry.

• FedEx Family house in Shelby County in the building green category.

• Greenlspaces in Hamilton County in the environmental education and outreach category.

• Milcrofton Utility District in Williamson County for the water quality category.

• Paint Oak LLC in Hamilton County for the materials management category.

• The Shelby County Health Department in the clean air category.

• Stanley Black & Decker in Madison County in the sustainable performance category.

Additionally, Crosstown Concourse in Memphis and The Nashville Food Project of Nashville are recognized with Pursuit of Excellence Awards, which recognizes past award winners who continue to demonstrate a high regard for environmental stewardship.

A panel of nine professionals representing agricultural, conservation, forestry, environmental and academic professions judged more than 82 nominations and selected this year’s award recipients based on criteria including on-the-ground environmental achievement, innovation, transferability, partnerships, and public education.