Early voting begins in county and state races

Robert Houk • Jul 13, 2018 at 12:00 AM

Early voting for the Aug. 2 election begins today and ends July 28. Voters will determine the outcome of county general elections and decide state and federal primaries.

That includes the Republican race for governor, which includes U.S. Rep. Diane Black, Knoxville businessman Randy Boyd, state House Speaker Beth Harwell, Williamson County developer/farmer Bill Lee and Kay White of Johnson City as candidates. State Rep. Craig Fitzhugh and former Nashville Mayor Karl Dean are vying for the Democratic nomination for governor.

Early voting will be conducted weekdays between 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and from 9 a.m. to noon Saturdays at the Washington County Courthouse, 100 Main St., Jonesborough; Johnson City Fire Station 8, 106 Gray Commons Area; and the Princeton Arts Center, 2516 E. Oakland Ave., Johnson City.

The Aug. 2 ballot includes the general election for county mayor, sheriff and County Commission seats, as well as federal primaries for Tennessee’s seats in Congress.

U.S. Rep. Marsha Blackburn is running to become the GOP nominee for the seat now held by Republican Bob Corker in the U.S. Senate. Former Gov. Phil Bredesen is vying to be the Democratic candidate for that seat in November.

State Rep. Matthew Hill, R-Jonesborough, has no opponent in the Republican Primary for the 7th District. Meanwhile, former Johnson City Mayor Steve Darden’s name appears on the GOP primary ballot against state Rep. Micah Van Huss, R-Jonesborough, but he is no longer pursuing the nomination for the 6th District seat.

In Washington County, Republican nominee Joe Grandy and independent candidate James Reeves will square off for county mayor. Races for county trustee, register of deeds, Circuit Court clerk and sheriff are uncontested in Washington County.

Six seats on the Washington County Board of Education are on the August ballot. Kerrie Aistrop, Annette Buchanan, Jason Day and Keith R. Ervin are vying for one of three seats in the 1st District. In the 3rd District, Chad Fleenor, David Hammond, Trevor L. Knight and Mitch Meredith are running for one of three open seats.

Seven of the 15 seats on the Washington County Commission are also contested. They are:

• The 1st District., where Republican incumbent Steven Light faces independent candidate Tracy Hicks;

• The 3rd District, where former Jonesborough Alderman Jerome K. Fitzgerald, a Republican, faces Isaac Moore, an independent candidate;

• The 4th District, where Republican incumbent Danny Edens is challenged by independent candidate Brandon Bates;

• The 7th District, where GOP incumbent Larry England faces former Johnson City Mayor P.C. Snapp, an independent candidate;

• The 8th District, where Republican nominee Freddie H. Malone is challenged by former Commissioner Pat Collins, who is running as an independent;

• The 9th District, where GOP incumbent Suzy Williams faces Democratic candidate Dennis Prater; and

• The 14th District, where Republican nominee Jim Wheeler is challenged by Johnson City Commissioner Ralph Van Brocklin, who is running as an independent.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos