The winners and losers of Washington County Commission races

Robert Houk • Updated May 2, 2018 at 2:01 AM

Tuesday’s Republican Primary for the Washington County Commission saw five incumbents lose their bids for a spot of the Aug. 2 general election ballot. That’s when voters will elect a single commissioner to represent each of the county’s newly drawn 15 districts.

Former Unicoi County Sheriff Kent Harris is among GOP winners who will face no challengers in August. Other Republicans who will have clear sailing in the general election include incumbent Commissioners Greg Matherly, Robbie Tester and Gary McAllister.

Likewise, Jodi Jones, a Democrat who faced no opposition in her primary, will be the lone name to appear on the Aug. 2 ballot in the 11th District.

The unofficial results of Tuesday’s polling for the County Commission are:

1st District

Incumbent Steven Light was unopposed in the Republican Primary, where he collected 797 votes. He will face independent candidate Tracy Hicks in August.

2nd District

Kent Harris collected 800 votes to Vincent Whitright’s 240 to win the Republican Primary. Harris will face no opponent in the general election.

3rd District

Former Jonesborough Alderman Jerome K. Fitzgerald received 963 votes in his unopposed bid for the Republican nomination. He will face Isaac Moore, an independent candidate, on Aug. 2.

4th District

Commissioner Danny Edens defeated fellow incumbent Forrest Boreing to win the Republican Primary. Edens collected 578 votes to Boreing’s 410 to earn a place on the August ballot with independent candidate Brandon Bates.

5th District

Incumbent Bryan Davenport received 408 votes to the 397 collected by John Daniel in the GOP primary. Davenport has no opponent on the Aug. 2 ballot.

6th District

Greg Matherly, the chairman of the County Commission, received 605 complimentary votes to win the GOP nomination. Likewise, he has no opponent in August.

7th District

Incumbent Larry England collected 736 votes to win the Republican Primary. He will face a challenge in the general election from former Johnson City Mayor P.C. Snapp, an independent candidate.

8th District

Freddie H. Malone (with 292 votes) defeated incumbent Robbie McQuire by 26 votes to win the GOP nomination. He will next face former Commissioner Pat Collins, who is running as an independent in August.

9th District

Commissioner Suzy Williams received 296 votes to top fellow incumbents Lee Chase and George E. “Skip” Oldham III for the Republican nomination. Chase collected 258 votes and Oldham received 187.

Williams will face Democratic candidate Dennis Prater, who received 41 votes in his primary.

10th District

Incumbent Phillip Carriger collected 399 votes to Carla B. McLain’s 210 to win the Republican Primary. Carriger has no opponent in August.

11th District

Jodi Jones received 59 complimentary votes in the Democratic Primary. She faces no opposition in the general election.

12th District

Incumbent Robbie Tester collected 346 complimentary votes in the GOP primary. He has no opponent on the Aug. 2 ballot.

13th District

Incumbent Cary McAllister received 474 votes to wrap up the Republican nomination. His name alone will appear on the district’s ballot in August.

14th District

Jim Wheeler, who collected 636 votes to win the Republican Primary, will face Johnson City Commissioner and former mayor Ralph Van Brocklin, who will appear on the general election ballot as an independent.

15th District

Commissioner Mike “Boots” Ford defeated fellow incumbent Lynn Hodge and Logan Burleson to win the GOP race. Ford Collected 643 votes, followed by Hodge with 413 and Burleson with 252 votes. The Republican has no opponent on the August ballot.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos