Election roundup: Candidates who've picked up petitions to run for office in 2018

Zach Vance • Updated Jan 31, 2018 at 8:16 PM

So far, 72 candidates have picked up petitions to run for federal, state and county public offices in the August and May elections, according to the Washington County Election Commission’s latest report.

Candidates running for county mayor, county commissioner, court clerk, register of deeds, sheriff and trustee have until noon Feb. 15 to submit their petitions with at least 25 signatures.

With 15 days left until the deadline, 20 of the 52 candidates for those positions — just one a mayoral candidate — have filed their completed petitions to appear on the ballot.

County school board, state and federal candidates running in the August primary and November general election have until noon on April 5 to submit their petitions.

This year, Washington County voters will see their local governing body shrink considerably. Washington County commissioners voted in April 2015 to reduce their number from 25 to 15 commissioners, one representative for each district, beginning this election year.

That change will likely make for some competitive races as many incumbents, like Mike Ford and Rick Storey, will face off against each other to be the sole representative of their district.

Some new names have appeared on the list in recent weeks, including Johnson City Commissioner Ralph Van Brocklin. Van Brocklin appears to be contemplating double duty as he’s picked up a petition to run for the county’s 14th Commission District.

Johnson City Mayor David Tomita is also hoping to secure a role in the county government as he has already completed his petition to run for trustee against Judy Harris.

Former state representative Dale Ford picked up paperwork to run for both county mayor and Tennessee’s 7th House District, but he told the Johnson City Press Wednesday he was about “80 percent sure” he wouldn’t run for either office.

East Tennessee State University student Nathan Farnor has picked up papers to run as a Democrat for Rep. Matthew Hill’s 7th House District seat. Farnor is a Roan Scholar, serves as vice president for the university’s Student Government Association and is the first student representative on ETSU’s Board of Trustees.

The following is a list of all the candidates who have picked up petitions for local, state and federal races from the Washington County Election Commission, as of Jan. 31:

May 2018 Primary

County Mayor

•  Joe Grandy, Republican
•  Mark Ferguson, Republican
•  Dale Ford, Republican
•  James Reeves, Independent

1st Commission District

•  Incumbent Pat Wolfe, Republican
•  Steven Light, Republican
•  Tracy Hicks, Independent

2nd Commission District

•  Incumbent Todd Hensley, Republican
•  Kent Harris, Republican

3rd Commission District

•  Isaac Moore, Republican
•  Craig Ford, Republican

4th Commission District

•  Incumbent Danny Edens, Republican
•  Incumbent Forrest Boreing, Republican
•  Brandon Bates, Independent

5th Commission District

•  Incumbent Bryan Davenport, Republican
•  John Daniel, Republican

6th Commission District

•  Incumbent Greg Matherly, Republican
•  Trevor Knight, Republican

7th Commission District

•  Incumbent Larry England, Republican
•  Incumbent Sam Humphreys, Independent
•  P.C. Snapp, Independent

8th Commission District

•  Incumbent Robbie McGuire, Republican
•  Donald Feathers, Independent
•  Pat Collins, Independent

9th Commission District

•  Incumbent Lee Chase, Republican
•  Incumbent Richard Johnson, Independent
•  Incumbent George “Skip” Oldham, Republican
•  Dennis Prater, Democrat

10th Commission District

•  Incumbent Phillip Carriger, Republican
•  Sam Phillips, Republican and Independent 
•  Carla McLain, Republican 
•  John Baker, Independent

11th Commission District

•  Joshua Culbert, Republican
•  Jodi Jones, Democrat

12th Commission District

•  Incumbent Robbie Tester, Republican
•  Nancy Fischman, Democrat

13th Commission District

•  Incumbent Gary McAllister, Republican

14th Commission District

•  Jim Wheeler, Republican
•  Jeannie Nanney, Republican
•  Ralph Van Brocklin, Independent
•  David Drayer, Independent

15th Commission District

•  Incumbent Mike Ford, Republican
•  Incumbent Rick Storey, Republican
•  Logan Burleson, Republican

Circuit Court Clerk

•  Brenda Downes, Republican
•  Michele Walsh, Republican

Register of Deeds

•  Michael Hartman, Republican
•  Teresa Bowman, Republican


•  Incumbent Ed Graybeal, Republican


•  David Tomita, Republican
•  Judy Harris, Republican

 August 2018 Primary

Juvenile Judge/Johnson City

•  none

District 1 Washington County School Board

•  Incumbent Keith Ervin, Independent
•  Kerrie Aistrop, Independent
•  Jason Day, Independent 
•  Mickey Trivett, Independent
•  Annette Buchanan

District 3 Washington County School Board

•  Incumbent David Hammond, Independent
•  Dwight Jenkins, Independent
•  Trevor Knight, Independent
•  Eric Stanton, Independent

Democratic State Executive Committeewoman

•  Nancy Fischman, Independent

Republican State Executive Committeewoman

•  Sharon Boreing, Republican
•  Anita Taylor, Republican
•  Betty Ziesel, Republican

District 3 State Senator

•  Incumbent Rusty Crowe, Republican

U.S. Representative for Tennessee’s 1st District

•  Incumbent Phil Roe, Republican
•  Todd McKinley, Republican
•  Marty Olsen, Democrat

Tennessee State Representative 6th District

•  Incumbent Micah Van Huss, Republican
•  Murphey Johnson, Independent
•  David Michel, Independent

Tennessee State Representative 7th District

•  Incumbent Matthew Hill, Republican
•  Dale Ford, Republican 
•  Nathan Farnor, Democrat
•  Nancy Fischman, Democrat

Eds. Note: A previous version of this story omitted Todd McKinley as a Republican candidate for Tennessee’s 1st Congressional District. As a resident of Sullivan County, McKinley was not included in the Washington County Election Commission’s report. 

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos