Sanders announces his ETSU staff; six holdovers return

Joe Avento • Updated Jan 11, 2018 at 4:23 PM

There will be some familiar faces on the sideline when East Tennessee State’s football season begins in the fall.

New ETSU coach Randy Sanders announced his staff on Thursday, and six men who coached under Carl Torbush have been retained.

Leading the way is Billy Taylor, who served as the team’s defensive coordinator and inside linebackers coach. Also back are wide receivers coach Mike Rader, running backs coach Gary Downs, defensive line coach Daryl Daye, outside linebackers coach Dylan Llewelyn and strength and conditioning coach Al Johnson.

In addition, former ETSU receiver Marcus Satterfield will be the offensive coordinator. Satterfield had been the offensive coordinator at several schools, including Temple and Chattanooga, before taking on the head coaching job at Tennessee Tech, where he was fired this season.

Steve Brown, who coached with Sanders at Kentucky, will coach the defensive backs. Matt McCutchan, who spent the past five years with Sanders at Florida State, will coach the offensive line. He was the Seminoles’ offensive quality control coach.

“I am pleased we were able to retain some of the coaches who were already here, along with bringing in a few additions,” Sanders said. “I have had the privilege of working with Coach Brown at Kentucky, Coach McCutchan at Kentucky and Florida State, and I am happy to bring Coach Satterfield back to Johnson City. The current coaches have done a tremendous job keeping the ball moving, and we are all ready to get to work. This staff has a lot of experience, and they have a lot of energy and enthusiasm for the job.”

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos