Several local players named to coaches' All-State team

Jeff Birchfield • Updated Jan 3, 2018 at 7:51 PM

Science Hill senior quarterback Jaylan Adams and offensive lineman Trey Gasteiger headline a list of local athletes named to the Tennessee Football Coaches Association All-State teams.

Adams, the Johnson City Press Elite 11 Player of the Year, racked up over 3,000 yards of offense leading the Hilltoppers to the TSSAA Class 6A playoffs. Gasteiger, a 6-foot-3, 267-pound senior, paved the way for many of Adams’ big gains.

Dawson Pierson of Dobyns-Bennett was also named as an offensive lineman on the Class 6A team.

Bailey Presnell of Daniel Boone was named All-State offensive lineman in Class 5A.

The Elizabethton duo of quarterback Carter Everett and wide receiver Ryan Wetzel were named to the Class 4A team. Sullivan South’s Ethan Ward was named as an athlete. State champion Greeneville had four players — quarterback Cade Ballard, offensive lineman Chris Everhart, wide receiver Dorien Goddard and defensive back Seth Crawford.

Johnson County quarterback Nathan Arnold was on the Class 3A team, while the team’s leading tackler, linebacker Hayden Osborne, was named a defensive athlete.

Happy Valley also had two representatives, Landon Morefield on the Class 2A offensive line, and Brayden Sams as a defensive back.

In Class 1A, Cloudland’s Jordan Coffey was named as an offensive athlete while Unaka was represented by quarterback John Ramsey and wide receiver Blake Isaacs.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos