no avatar

Bidwell, Scarborough named as Presidential Fellows at ETSU

Contributed • Dec 28, 2018 at 4:32 PM

East Tennessee State University President Brian Noland has named Dr. Joe Bidwell and Dr. Janna L. Scarborough as presidential fellows for the spring 2019 semester.

As fellows, the two faculty members will develop and execute a project that is aligned with one of the university’s major initiatives in teaching, learning and service. The fellows will work closely with President Noland, his leadership team and ETSU Center for Teaching Excellence staff.

Bidwell joined ETSU in 2014 and is a professor and chairman of Biological Sciences. During this time, he has also served as interim chairman of chemistry. Before joining ETSU, he held faculty and chairman positions at the University of Newcastle, Australia and Oklahoma State University.

He received his B.S. in Biology from Siena College and his M.S. and Ph.D. from Virginia Tech. His research focuses on how chemical, physical and biological factors influence the physiology and distribution of aquatic organisms and he has an active research group that includes undergraduate and graduate students.

Bidwell is a Council of Academic Chairs representative to University Council, a member of the College of Arts and Sciences Budget Priorities Committee and a member of the ETSU Building Resilience through ACES-informed Networking Trust.

His Presidential Fellows project will investigate attitudes toward interdisciplinary programs at ETSU considering the decentralized budget and examine how other institutions have maintained collaboration between academic units when moving to a decentralized budget model.

Scarborough, a professor in the Clemmer College, earned her doctoral degree in counselor education from the University of Virginia and taught at Syracuse University for four years prior to her arrival at East Tennessee State University in 2006.

At ETSU, she has served as a graduate program coordinator, associate chairwoman and was the founding department chairwoman for the Department of Counseling and Human Services, a role she served in for six years before becoming the Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Affairs.

For her Presidential Fellows project, Scarborough will conduct a comprehensive examination of issues, needs and strategies for building academic leadership capacity and department chair development at ETSU.

She has served in various leadership roles including as the Chairwoman of the Council of Academic Chairs and as a member of the University Council. In addition to her administrative roles she continues to teach in the counseling program and was the recipient of the 2013 Tennessee School Counselor Association Counselor Educator of the Year award.

Her research expertise includes school counselor practice, preparation, and professional development and working with LGBTIQQIA youth. She developed the School Counselor Activity Rating Scale, which continues to be utilized in research today.

She was the principal investigator for the APF Wayne F. Placek Grant award in 2010 with co-authors Drs. Kristopher Goodrich and Melissa Luke, and all were recipients of the 2012 Research Award from the Association for Counselor Education and Supervision.

Scarborough has also served in various professional service positions including as president of the Tennessee Association for Lesbian, Gay, Bi and Transgender Issues in Counseling.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos