no avatar


Contributed • Apr 24, 2018 at 3:33 PM

ELIZABETHTON — Four more of the best school teachers from Carter County and Elizabethton will be inducted into the Carter County-Elizabethton Educators Hall of Fame on Saturday, April 28.

The purpose of the celebration is to recognize and honor "educators who have made a lasting impact in the lives of the citizens of our community." Retired and deceased educators from Carter County Schools and Elizabethton City Schools will be honored and recognized. In addition, 2017-18 "teachers of the year" from Carter County and Elizabethton will be recognized at this celebration.

The Hall of Fame inductees for this year are:

• From Carter County Schools: retired teacher Kathy Buck and Renee Burchfield (deceased).

• From Elizabethton City Schools: retired teacher Patsy Taylor Goddard and Carl Cates (deceased).

Carter County and Elizabethton City educators selected as "teacher of the year" from Carter County are: Norma Carr, Jennifer Frazier and Irene Batchelder. Teachers of the year from Elizabehtton are Seth Deloach, Travis Smithdeal and Forrest Holt.

Master of ceremonies will be local news host Josh Smith. Musical entertainment will be provided by the Elizabethton High School vocal music ensembles under the direction of Debbie Gouge.

The event will be held at the Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Elizabethton, located on Tenn. Highway 91 across from Elizabethton Municipal Airport. Dinner will be served at 6 p.m. and the program and recognitions will follow. Tickets for the event may be purchased at the Carter County Public Library or from a member of the Imagination Library board of directors.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos