ETSU Foundation's endowment exceeds $100 million for 1st time

Contributed To The Press • Apr 13, 2018 at 9:15 PM

KINGSPORT – Some of the most loyal supporters of East Tennessee State University through the ETSU Foundation were recognized for their efforts during the Distinguished President’s Trust dinner at MeadowView Conference Resort and Convention Center on Friday, April 13.

The Distinguished President’s Trust is comprised of individuals, organizations and businesses whose cumulative giving to ETSU is in excess of $10,000 each, usually the result of annual giving or combinations of significant major or realized planned gifts.

ETSU President Brian Noland and ETSU Foundation Chairman Thomas Krieger welcomed 44 new members of the DPT and 14 new and rising members of the President’s Society during the formal dinner.

Noland expressed appreciation for the transformative efforts of this group of more than 1,400 contributors.

“What has taken place this evening, and all of what makes our university great, is made possible through your generosity and support,” Noland said while addressing the audience at the DPT event. “You have provided resources to build new facilities, endow chairs and provide scholarships to our students. Thank you for making dreams possible for our students. Thank you for making East Tennessee State University a great university.”

Krieger said, “Every year, we are able to create new opportunities for our students and for the faculty and staff of ETSU, and those opportunities are made possible through the faithful support of the Distinguished President’s Trust. I encourage other alumni and friends to join us in helping to continue the legacy that began in 1911 of serving our region.”

“This past year has been a celebration of the footprints being left by our students, faculty, staff and alumni, and tonight I am excited to announce that thanks to our generous donors, the ETSU Foundation Endowment has exceeded $100 million for the first time,” said Vice President for University Advancement Pam Ritter. “Much of this would not be possible if not for the efforts and gifts made by those recognized tonight.

“A gift from George L. Carter back in the early 1900s provided a home for East Tennessee State University, and since then, thousands of individuals have continued to recognize the significance of this institution through their financial contributions.”

The newest DPT members include Kenneth L. and Lisa S. Becker; William H. and Sandy M. Brown; William J. Bunch; Richard C. Churchill; Marguerite T. and Richard Clark; Tracey E. and Scott Cleek; Commercial Bank; Robert E. and Betty B. Cooper; Dr. William T. Cummins; Dr. Earnest A. and Claire Daigneault; Tom and Jean DeBord; Richard Diehl Inc.; Dr. Scott C. and Heidi M. Dulebohn; Barry D. Dutton; Uriel W. Edde Sr.; The Fletcher Exhibit; Fraternal Order of Eagles; Curtis A. and Jana B. Fullbright; Carolyn D. Gilmore and Michael J. Burns; Harry E. Harman II and Betty J. Harman; Robert L. Hendry; James W. Holmes; Michael S. and Sally A. Hurt; Travis and Beth Hutton – Just Jump; Drs. Karin J. and Greg Keith; Dr. James L. and Susan Lapis; Courtney and Bo Mauzy; PT Pros; Dr. Robert P. Pack; Quick Cash Checking Inc.; Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey; Drs. Vedire V. and Illuri R. Reddy; Renasant Bank; Allen R. and Kelly B. Rhea; Dr. Richard G. Rhoda; Dr. Patricia E. Robertson; Jeffrey B. and Catherine Safran; Jay and Sunny Sandos; Col. Walter E. and Ann H. Savage; Shafer Insurance Agency – Aaron Jenson; Judge David W. and Ann Tipton; Valley Electric; Judge Brenda J. and Robert L. Waggoner; and Carruth J. Wagner M.D. Foundation.

The President’s Society is comprised of DPT members whose lifelong contributions to the ETSU Foundation exceed $50,000. Most of these donors are permanently recognized on the President’s Society Hall of Honor in Burgin E. Dossett Hall.

The newest members of the Bronze Society, which recognizes donors with cumulative contributions of at least $50,000, include Dr. Robert L. and Norma K. Clark; Crown Laboratories Inc.; Allyn H. Weigel; Andrew H. and Karen H. Whetsel; Mahoney’s; Tony and Teresa Treadway; and John C. Oakes Estate.

The Silver Society honors donors with cumulative contributions of at least $100,000. New members include Blackburn, Childers & Steagall PLC – Charles Steagall; Jeff Blake; Dr. Larry G. and Carol Graham; Summers-Taylor Inc.; and Estate of Wendell E. Burnette Jr.

William B. Greene Jr., BancTenn Corp., Bank of Tennessee and Carter County Bank attained Platinum Society, Level II, at $2 million in cumulative contributions.

Attaining Diamond Society, Level IV at $6 million in cumulative contributions are James J. and Sandra G. Powell.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos