Carter, Johnson, Elizabethton school systems receive Work-Based Learning Grants

John Thompson • Jan 9, 2018 at 8:20 PM

ELIZABETHTON — The Carter County School System, the Johnson County School System and the Elizabethton City School System were among the 29 school districts from across the state that received Work-Based Learning Grants.

The awards were announced Monday by the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development.

In total, the department awarded more than $710,000 to school districts that have designed programs to promote career skills and readiness among Tennessee students.

“TNECD is proud to provide these Work-Based Learning Grants to help improve the career readiness of Tennessee students and develop a strong workforce of tomorrow,” Economic and Community Development Commissioner Bob Rolfe said. “Many communities and school districts across Tennessee have stepped forward with strong programs that will help students develop career skills. I’m encouraged by the continued efforts to ensure Tennessee is the most aligned state in the country when it comes to education and workforce development.”

The grants will assist the development or expansion of work-based learning programs that promote career awareness and student readiness in grades K-12. Work-Based Learning is an education strategy that provides students with experiences to learn and develop career and job skills.

Other communities and school districts selected for the grants include: Rutherford County Schools, Lincoln County Schools, Cheatham County School District, Clarksville-Montgomery County Schools, Fayette County Public Schools, Houston County Board of Education, Putnam County School System, Alcoa City Schools, White County Board of Education, Smith County Board of Education, Shelby County Schools, Maryville City Schools, Blount County Schools, Marshall County Board of Education, Tennessee School for the Blind, Warren County School District, Lenoir City Schools, Bristol Tennessee City Schools, Roane County Schools, Bradley County Schools, Sumner County Schools, Maury County Public Schools, Haywood County Schools, Robertson County Schools, Hamilton County Schools and Humphreys County Board of Education.

Recommended for You

    Johnson City Press Videos